Camping in the Lake District

Last May Rob and I went camping for my birthday weekend at the Skyeside campsite near Brothers Water in the Lake District. It is one of my favourite parts of the country – hills and lakes, walking and whisky. I can’t think of a better way to spend my birthday. We were joined by two of our good friends, Matt and Katie, who Rob went to school with.  It was such a brilliant weekend, we decided to go again this year.Brothers Water refletion

The campsite is basic but has a shop and a really good pub, ideal as rainy days are inevitable in the late spring.

We are planning to do some more hiking this year(more on that in a few weeks), so thought that the six hour trek up to Hart and Dove Crag would be a great way to warm up for the summer, and give me a chance to use my new walking poles (thanks Nim!).
Near Hart and Dove Crag Top of the crag

The route was steep, gaining elevation quickly until we were walking right along the ridge opposite the campsite, looking down onto Brothers Water and the tiny dots of tents. The ancient looking wall drew a clear path along the top for us until we reached the bases of Hart and Dove Crags where we stopped for a very windswept picnic.
Brothers Water from above

The trip also gave me a chance to try out my new camera, the lomography Konstruktor which I built myself. It was a birthday present from Rob and I love shooting on film again after a break of years. It was so much fun that we’ve just purchased a pair of old Pentax SLRs so that we can get out and have even more film fun. (Konstruktor photos below)
Photo07_3A

Photo37_33A

2 thoughts on “Camping in the Lake District

Leave a Reply

